Government To Further Reform E-Visa Regime: Tourism Secretary


After enabling e-visa facility to 150 countries, the government is in the process of further reforming the regime to boost tourism sector in the country.

“We have e-visa for 150 countries. We are reforming the e-visa regime further. We are trying to extend it to medical tourism and business tourists and it’s just a matter of time,” Tourism Secretary Vinod Zutshi said here at an industry event.

Launched in November 2014, the scheme was initially available for the citizens of 113 countries. It was further extended to the nationals of 37 more countries this year, taking the total number to 150.

The Tourism Ministry has asked Home Ministry to extend the facility to the citizens of 36 more countries, including Turkey, Italy, Saudi Arabia and Morocco.

Listing out steps, which the ministry has taken to boost the industry, Zutshi said the government has also decided to set up a task force under the chairmanship of secretary tourism to work on the connectivity aspects of tourist destinations.

Representatives from National Highways, Civil Aviation and Railways would also be the part of the task force.